RSS

Being Thankful

17 Nov

It is a little early for Thanksgiving thoughts but I am in the “mood” for such ramblings. I have a lot of time on my hands and sometimes construct lists of things to do, things I want to do but probably will never get around to and just generally count my blessings. I find that the older I get, the more frequent these flights of mind occur.  A note from a friend triggered this post yesterday. He had an opportunity to use a fellows K3 for a month or so and ran through all the scenarios (daydreaming out loud) about probable results if he found it 1) wonderful or 2) not that much different than his present station. A very nice problem to have! In a roundabout way this led me to counting how many ways I would change my own station and then to some thoughts much farther afield.

The short answer about my station is that I would change almost nothing. I am blessed with an abundance of riches in that I am able to have a radio, I have an antenna that facilitates my radio activities (something that a lot of us may take for granted) and it provides me with a thread of connection to both new and old friends alike. We, all of us, ofttimes want something more, however, in the larger scheme of things, almost never need anything more. In my case this outfit meets and most often exceeds my needs. If I had to wish for something it would be to master my Morse or be able to convention with old long neglected friendships at some mutually convenient spot. So yes, I am happy with what I have and hardware would not be in any needs list at my QTH. For this I am blessed.

A bit farther afield and not related to radio at all is the best thing that ever happened to me. This is the most important thing I have to be thankful for…..and that was to be laid off at 57 years old. Although devastating in the near term as things usually work out this turned into a blessing not so diguised. It seems I had my son’s middle school and high school years to spend with him. I am only sorry I didn’t get an equal time with the girls. However, in the interim I spent a lot of quality time that I would otherwise not have had with family in general and my son in particular. This has been a priceless gift. A gift that may contain multiple generations of ripples that will payback in my unborn grand children’s quality of life. I believe that we should never underestimate the effects that quality time spent with family gives over the decades. Those relationships pay dividends for generations and help keep values, traditions and mores remain active and relevant over long periods of time. Stability if you will, in a very noisy environment to bring it into “Ham Speak” or communications terms.

The only remaining element that could possibly make this Holiday Season better would be the presence of the last generation now deceased. Sadly, that is not possible and I can only wish that I had made a spoken history to share with our grandchildren. Not having that, we have photos and memories, family stories and loads of laughter to encapsulate the previous generations. Hopefully that will suffice.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 17, 2011 in Family, Radio, Stuff

 

One response to “Being Thankful

  1. Larry

    November 17, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    Amen, Chas! Great post.

     

Leave a Reply

 
