RSS

Time for a facelift

01 Nov

Time for a freshening up I think. I am not sure I really like this new theme but what the hay, lets let it hang a few days and see if it grows on me. The old format got kind of stale.

What isn’t getting stale are the bands these days. Wow, what a great set of openings. I was plunking around last night and most of yesterday while doing my surfing thang on the internet and couldn’t resist trying to contact a few fellows. I must be graduating into the realm of the “Deserving” cuz some were worked and some were only heard. Tops in rarity yesterday was (for me) a 5t0JL on 18 MHz late in the day.  I was sitting on 18 MHz and checking my tuner settings and happened to see a pip at the low end of the band….there I found a strong 5t0JL making his presence known to anyone wishing a Q so I popped my call in and came away with a nice 579. Rather a fortutious find if I do say so myself. Yes, I am quite pleased with this one!

Earlier on 10 Meters I worked some DX throughout the day from all manner of climes. DL60SSC, I2AZ,RK6YY,EW8),RK3ER,OE4VIE to name a few and a pretty good sampling if I do say so myself.Not a bad day for sure. As you may be aware, I am a casual DXer so mostly answer folks calling and hardly ever use a cluster. Sometimes if a guy is calling split for an awfully long time without identifying Ill cluster him up to see just who it is going on for twenty or thirty minutes sans ID.:)

After writing my ditty on DX awards chasing off DXers that simply want to chat, I am of course, guilty  of reprehensible behavior. At least I am fessing up. I even sent envelopes to the bureau this week (both bureaus W5, W7). I think on casual glance I have 250 ish countries confirmed and the cards sitting in a plastic file box but have never bothered to send them into ARRL for an award. I am either very casual or have no wall space to hang framed certificates. In this case I think both are true statements. My shack walls are littered with tall, narrow windows. What wall space there is is covered by ancient old clocks- these mostly of the Marine Radio Room variety, although I do have one that clangs away and awakens me occasionally from my computer screen induced catharsis. Between computer screens, radio playing softly in the background with a Ham Band tuned in and the clock chirping away I am managing to stay fully entertained. Almost like a monkey with a drilled coconut and a marble inside!

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 1, 2011 in DX, Radio

 

One response to “Time for a facelift

  1. Bill N5AB

    November 7, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    It’s a nice looking page.
    Keep up the posts! I have you bookmarked in a folder of ham blogs
    that I open when starting up the Mac each morning.

     

Leave a Reply

 
