RSS

Saturday 22 October 2011

22 Oct

I cannot get over the bands today. According to Millstone Radiosonde ( Millstone ) the FOF2 is around eleven Mhz. 2.5 X FOF2 is (10.8X2.5) making MUF near 27 Mhz. Listening on 10 meters shows it too is open. Yesterday we chose to split up CW practice by segmenting our hour into three 20 minute segments and begin on 18 Mhz followed by 21 Mhz and then 24 Mhz. 20 minutes on each band. Curiously enough, the path from Boston to Dallas was solid S-9 on 18 Mhz, poor on 21 Mhz and again very useful on 24 Mhz but none were as good as 18 Mhz. Some of this can be attributed to my antenna lobes, some to time of day and MUF etc and some to unknown causes like poor matches and bad patterns at one end or the other. We made a path that worked well enough to be Q5 regardless of signal strength for each of the 20 minute segment. Again this AM where I left off yesterday, 24 Mhz, was again wide open to all parts of EU. Stations worked or heard were UA6DX, RZ3DX, LZ2BZA and DL2DX. All on 24 Mhz.

I never seem to get enough of the surprises that propagation affords me. It really does not matter what band it is, just having an adventure of never knowing whom was on that band and if the band had a strange or unexpected opening. Constant entertainment. I just love it. Of course having some sunspots to work with enhances the whole experience as higher bands are a lot easier for us little pistols to garner some rare tidbit of DX. This is to me, always a hoot.

I have continued to consume W6AM’s book by Jan Perkins. I am reminded often how much of the early days of radio I know little about. When I discovered the joy of this “one man’s history” I also found a used copy of DeSoto’s 200 Meters and Down. That should arrive in a week or two. By then Ill be done with the Wallace book. Reading this account gives me a whole new appreciation for how it was done before I was born. Reading accounts of years of activity with DX totals equaling seventy or eighty DX confirmations compared to being able to work DXCC in a weekend nowadays is quite a thrill. The boys that operated prior to WWII had a real chore to work DX for sure. Their wives must have been Saints!

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 22, 2011 in DX, Radio

 

Leave a Reply

 
