RSS

Serendipity

08 Oct

I was just reading Julian’s blog over at G4ILO and it reminded me of something completely accidental that happened on the bands this week. Those of you that read here regularly will recall that I keep clocks. These are the old fashioned wind up ships clocks variety. Well they require winding once every seven days and I tend to use the 10 MHz WWV as it is most reliable from my location to wind and set all six of there old sea dogs. Following my winding chores I usually take a spin around 30 M to see what is what and so this morning I did the same and lo who was working the low end? T32C with no pileup! Shezaam. I managed a contact and so continued tuning and again a giant pileup going and so I settled in to see who this was. It turned out to be V63DX and so I tried again. Wow…working two good DX stations in 30 minutes or so by accident is kinda nice. I like accidental DX.

I was puny all week with some sort of crud. Kind of like a lite dose of Flu. It has been several years since I came down with anything and so I had to discover all over again how nasty one feels with a temperature, sniffles and coughing and wheezing. It is Saturday and I’m back so glad it is now a thing of the past.

We read some more on the Santa Fe Trail this past 2 weeks or so. I don’t know what I find so fascinating about this history but it has captured me completely. I finished Otera’s book “My Life in the West” and am into Kingsbury’s letters (Trading in Santa Fe) now. This practice of finding a book that has footnotes and then following the footnotes across many different volumes and authors is opening a whole new world to me. A lot of first hand written legacy is available and I find that reading how life was lived via first hand accounts or annotated correspondence is incredibly interesting. It is living breathing history and I like it a lot. Fortunately it is also a great time to be alive for a reader as it seems the whole world inventory of used books is on line and cheap. I found another Otera book on line that is the mail. He was a contemporary of Billy the Kid and knew him. He wrote of this acquaintance and his knowledge of how he came about. I am looking forward to the read very much. Otera grew up at the end of the tracks while building rail roads across America so he came into contact with a lot of colorful personalities. Wild Bill, Kit Carson, Billy the Kid, Buffalo Bill etc etc. He had a career in politics in New Mexico and was Governor for a time there.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 8, 2011 in Radio, Readinf and History

 

Leave a Reply

 
