RSS

Second Station Finally Completed

09 Aug

 

We recently reorganized (read cleaned up my mess) and was able to complete the battery backup station installation. The battery station instal took over my indoor work surface but that is fine as I really need to move on to the garage cleanup and recover those surfaces as well. My garage workbench has been covered with clutter for approximately 17 years and enough is enough. Time to “reht up some” as my Pennsylvania Dutch step dad used to say. Since he passed and I sold his home and all his accumulation of stuff ended up in my garage I suppose I can face the clean up now. That event only happened 9 years ago now so it may not be very traumatic. Never do today what can be put off until tomorrow.

Emergency Power Station

The little IC-735 is working and sans CW Filter but I can find one used or use an outboard SCAF or DSP. In the meantime I can use Morse with it by setting the passband tuning all the way to one side.  The Vibroplex paddle was a gift from an old friend (Gary KF6U) and once belonged to our mutual friend Len Cary (W6AYQ-SK). I managed to get Len on Packet way back when, when we lived in Tracy California. Len wasn’t certain he wanted packet but at the end of a demo built on top of a set of cardboard boxes (like a giant breadbox setup) he surrendered and Gary kept him up and running for the next ten or more years. A very small gift for one of Ham Radio’s finest gentleman I have ever had the pleasure of knowing. I am very happy to keep Len’s paddle in service and I trust keep it going for many more years.

My amp is acting up again. Well I think it is my amp. I smell something burning while transmitting. It could be any number of things so sniffing it out begins again. Sigh. Too many projects and not enough time. Last night I took apart the wall outlet to see if I have wire nut or insulation issues in that area. No joy on that end of things. So today the cover is off my amp and naturally enough the thing wont smell for me. It could be my window pass through panel which is made of wood but I cannot see any burned marks at all on it. So the hunt continues. Perhaps the stress of an hour of practice will get it going strong enough to find the fault; I hope without spectacular events in the process.

Thank for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2011 in Radio

 

2 responses to “Second Station Finally Completed

  1. Bill N5AB

    August 9, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    Nice tidy shack.
    Is that a Fluke meter on the left side?

     
    • w5pg

      August 9, 2011 at 9:42 pm

      Thanks Bill and yes its an older autoranging Fluke. I forget the model but it was monitoring battery voltage. My batteries are the weak link so far but I will hunt up some longer lasting sealed batteries along the way. Best, Chas

       

Leave a Reply

 
