RSS

NAQP

07 Aug

I put out a little effort for the team last night. Some locals have begun a small contest club here in the Metropolis and so a team was formed up to enter NAQP CW in August. NAQP is my style of contest as witness to my last on the Team Entry! I was “Low Impact” player in all of this. It was fun nonetheless. It is always nice to hear old familiar call signs still in the fray and make new friends along the way. I cant think of a nicer way to spend some “off hours” on a Saturday Evening. Rig was an Icom IC-7800 running 100 watts to a simple dipole of OAL 50 feet up 27 feet. I used N1MM logger which I am ashamed to say I do not have a good handle on yet. CT was easier to use but that shows my age I am afraid.

Score Summary follows:

NAQPCW Score Summary Sheet

Start Date : 2011-08-06

CallSign Used : W5PG
Operator(s) : W5PG

Operator Category : SINGLE-OP
Band : ALL
Power : LOW
Mode : CW
Default Exchange : Chas TX
Gridsquare : EM12MW

Name : Chas Shinn
Address :
City/State/Zip : Coppell  TX  75019
Country : Dallas

ARRL Section : NTX
Club/Team : DFW Contest Group
Software : N1MM Logger V11.4.5

Band    QSOs    Pts  Sec   NA
3.5      17      17   11    0
7      74      74   33    0
14      81      81   35    2
Total     172     172   79    2

Score : 13,932
If you have not tried NAQP you owe it a shot someday. I know a lot of folks do not like contests at all but contests get the juices flowing and the only person you really need to compete with is yourself year over year. Besides it builds confidence that the essence of “Allen Bradley” will remain safely contained within the confines of your well designed shack.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 7, 2011 in Radio

 

Leave a Reply

 
