RSS

Summer Reading

17 Jul

I always seem to pick up a book or three in the summer time. Last summer I blasted through about 20 or more “Beach” reads. Intermixed with brainless adventure stories I always manage a little contemplative reading interspersed with the lighter stuff. That subject is the reason for this post. Many years ago I became fascinated with Astronomy. During that period I came across a short paperback book by a man named Leslie Peltier called Starlight Nights which was so captivating to my minds eye that I read it several times and read it aloud to my son during the times we were camping and sharing Astronomy in such places as Texas Star Party and one other star parties including one up in Nebraska. In his book, he has references to other of his contemporary authors and writers that are worth pursuing. To that end I made it a goal to list all Starlight Nights referenced authors and titles and try to find them and make a good read of as many as possible. Inasmuch as Leslie’s life spanned 1900/1980 ish most of these books were dated and out of print. This is where I learned of and put to good use internet resources such as ABE Books. Aside from locating said tomes, one can purchase for a pittance in most cases and only occasionally have to pay extra shipping fees. One author that I pursued early on was Edwin Way Teale. He wrote a series of four books which detailed a trip across parts of America in each of the four seasons; one book per season. They are easily found with a search on Teale. Each book for a season described a road trip of approximately 18000 miles through a different section of our country at a time and state of the US that is no longer. He is an excellent writer and has a prose that reflects a kinder, gentler time in America which I long to return to. I am rereading this set again this summer. Reading some of these earlier works serves to remind me of a pace of life that is not out of reach nor is it unachievable today. I would encourage any interested person to seek out some solace from the past and perhaps recalibrate your wants, needs and pace of things. I certainly have and find it a refreshing change.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2011 in Stuff

 

2 responses to “Summer Reading

  1. KF6U

    July 17, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    It’s a scary thought to think there may be some kind of ESP link between us, but just 2 nights ago I gave
    my oldest grand-daughter my copy of Starlight Nights to read while she is visiting us this summer. The winds
    here are starting to taper off and the nights will be warmer, so I see my Celestron C8 being put into action
    in the very near future. Clear skies OM. Gary

     
  2. Paul PC4T

    July 19, 2011 at 8:37 am

    Hi Chas, it seems that radio amateurs are interested in astronomy. My interest in astronomy has started when I was 10 years old. Still reading a lot about it. Only star gazing is not possible from my QTH because of spoiling city light at night. Wish you dark and starry nights. 73 Paul

     

Leave a comment