RSS

Good to be home…..

05 Jun

We are back form a trip to visit with my daughter and grandchildren in Colorado Springs. Ive not completely collected my thoughts but I do know one thing for sure. I’m getting old and driving 12 hours in a single day is tough on old bones. 725 miles in 12 hours, whew!

I think this month will be dedicated to getting the IC-735 ready for Field Day. I dont expect a large effort but one that will help my son experience more of Ham Radio and perhaps renew his desire to participate. With school weighing in heavily on his spare time about the only thing keeping him enthused is a desire to participate in Storm Chasing at A&M. We will work on that on weekends this summer when he isnt worrying about Calculus courses.

Our participation in FD will largely be determined by battery capacity. I only have two gell cells of dubious quality so I may be severely restricted. Part of getting ready is to test capacity with accessories attached. Since my 735 has no CW filter I guess I will break out my old Timewave DSP unit I haven’t used in years. A keyer, DSP, Radio and perhaps a lamp or computer to log should all be powered by battery this year. Maybe I can find a used car battery someplace!

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2011 in Family, Radio

 

2 responses to “Good to be home…..

  1. Mike

    June 6, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Good afternoon Chas, I can understand when you say that traveling sure does tire you out. We are just completing our travels around the U.K for our vacation and it is go go go day in and day out. I was planning to spend some time on the radio as I brought my KX1 with me but by the time we get in from the days travels I am very tired and just want to sack out. I had the IC-735 a long time ago it was a great rig. Do post how you do with it along with some pic’s as well.

     
    • w5pg

      June 6, 2011 at 7:57 pm

      Thanks MIke….sure will. This one does not have a CW filter but Ill put my old Timewave dsp back into service to see how it fares. Just secured a “Borrowed” deep cycle battery for the weekend so it looks like Class E is our ticket as I prefer emergency power with my home antenna and some good old fashioned AC to stay cool. Its 99 F outdoors just now. 🙂 Enjoy the trip. See you in the pileups!

      Best, Chas

       

Leave a Reply

 
