RSS

Back up Radio

14 Apr

After a short wait of several days I was again rescued by my good friend (Gary KF6U) junk box. I received the IC-735 last week and found no power cord and Gary, after reading this here, offered up one from his bottomless junk box. It has now arrived and as if by magic we have back up radio sounds emanating from this now vintage IC-735. It also has no CW filter but I plan on pressing back into service a long dormant DSP external filter that I have kept since my days with the Omni 6 Opt 3. The radio has good sensitivity and works well off of my single small gel cell ( I only attached one of the two I have here). Ultimately, this radio shall live its remaining life configured as a spare station along with a DSP filter, a Logikeyer, a spare paddle and a set of gel cells charged by a trickle charger. I hope to have enough battery backup to handle a weekend power outage or perhaps Field Day, although, I suspect should I have a weekends outage I will be more concerned with refrigeration and food spoilage than radio.  🙂

Next week I plan on removing the amp from service and tear out its QSK board. The replacement QSK board I received is a model differing substantially from the one in my amp, however, its relays are intact and so I now have a set of spares to work with that I am sure have done service in this application. My vision is poor so this will be slow going.

This weekend is Family Weekend in Aggie land so we will get to see our son. Hopefully he will be able to come home for Easter as well, so a couple of visits within a several week span. Perhaps I will get some photos this weekend and Ill share here.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2011 in Family, Radio

 

3 responses to “Back up Radio

  1. William McFadden

    April 14, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    Chas,

    I used an IC-735 for many years on CW without a CW filter. On CW, the IC-735’s PBT control works as a variable-bandwidth audio filter. I found that cranking the PBT control fully counter-clockwise narrowed the CW bandwidth quite effectively.

    I still have that ‘735, but it now has the 500Hz CW filter, and it is serves as back-up to my Elecraft K2.

    73,

    Eric, WD8RIF

     
  2. Paul PC4T

    April 14, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    Hi Chas, the IC-735 looks like a nice transceiver. I wish a lot of new gear has a retro look. Nowadays the equipment is small in size, little knobs, etc. Anyway, enjoy the family weekend, 73 Paul

     
    • w5pg

      April 14, 2011 at 4:47 pm

      Thanks Paul…big knobs is why I bot my IC 7800 many years ago. That is because my eyesight is poor due to a retina problem. Anyway should I go blind I can use the built in announcer! But that wont help on my tuner! Hi Hi…have a great weekend Paul. Enjoy some off time. Best, Chas

       

Leave a Reply

 
