RSS

Fallow Ground

26 Jul

I am afraid that my poor Blog has lain fallow for about a half a month or more and been quite barren during summer. Medical issues have taken precedence and I do not seem to be able to juggle a lot of balls simultaneously. But here we are, back in the saddle again so to speak, with renewed vigor and trivia about Ham Radio in general. I seem to be getting a handle on the eating/exercise program and now that they are baked into my routine I need not focus to much on things in that arena and just let things happen in due course.  I plan to post my graphs here since I need a url to post to my fitness web that helps me keep on track.

I do have to say that propagation has been generous to a fault to both the Boston end and myself this summer. At least that is my recollection of props in general. IIRC our schedules have run a full hour as usual except at this time of year we are running the hour at 1300 Z or thereabouts each day. Things must be going well at that hour since Chuck’s amp bit the bullet last week and we have continued to carry on. He has scheduling issues so the amp will have to wait for repairs and we will continue to limp along. So far no missed schedules or ESP type paths. We have a backup schedule on 30M at a later hour in the evening here locally and fortunately we have not had to rely on it. Early in June Sporadic E layer infestations acted like a firewall to HF propagation but it really was intermittent.

I need to get some antenna maintenance completed before fall. I want to find some bungee cord (shock cord) and hook terminations so that I can spring load my Dacron rope guys. I also want to reroute my feedline and clean up my indoor portion of the feedline routing. Cleaning in general will be looked upon most favorably by my better half. I have a large roll around cabinet on casters that I have wanted to make a work surface for so that I can have a portable work table that will easily accommodate tools, parts and general ruble. I hope to get to that this year sometime. My meters, scope and tools are scattered and that is most assuredly a roadblock to getting projects in motion. Who wants to spend a day gathering “stuff” for a simple job.

That’s all for now except to say I trust you all are having a delicious summer as we are. Grand kids are here and that is a wonderful thing to have happen when ever they come. Summer is nice because they get to expend all that energy in the water. 🙂

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2010 in Radio, Stuff

 

2 responses to “Fallow Ground

  1. Paul PAØPSY

    July 27, 2010 at 8:56 am

    Hi Chas, I think about a antenna change, and indeed before fall or certainly winter. We had an heatwave for three weeks. Maximum temperature was 39,5 C. Much too hot, fortunately for one day. Other days between 28 and 34 C. Real summer. My XYL and me are living healthy, so my weight dropped 4 kilo’s in 4 weeks time. I will continue this regime. Good luck, 73 Paul

     
    • w5pg

      July 27, 2010 at 1:12 pm

      Been warm here too Paul. June/July was hot hot hot….Lots of pool time! Good on the new regimine there. Keep on trucking. Ive been doing good and keeping up the walking and eating of non commercial food products and it has had an amazing effect for me. No more sinus issues or allergy attacks. No more dandruff. Lots of energy. All good stuff for a guy that is 65 years old. Thanks for the note my friend. Stay well and still hoping to meet you on the air someday. Best, Chas

       

Leave a Reply

 
