RSS

Ruh Roh

27 Jun

Went to Doc’s for a physical this week to see what was what, get some mileage from expensive health care plan I never use and look at blood chemistry. Well that was an eye opener. Scary for me. That explains my absence from posts. Ive been busy reading, walking and generally trying to right the sinking ship. Its been about a week and a half and things seem to be going fine.  Ill be back shortly but I need to rectify this 18 stone 9 lbs overload I’m carrying about. That and get my BP down to something that will allow me to live a little longer. Hopefully I can become a shadow of my current self.

I’m basically adopting a primal regime and adding in walking exercise. Its not been an easy transition but he who suggests that restricting carbs and thus controlling hunger and insulin seems to know what is what. I have had to take a crash course in BMI, BMR, Primal Diet and safe exercise. Too much junk food and to many hours at the computer/radio have conspired to cause a wake up call at this end of the circuit.  Hopefully this week will see a normalization of things and I can get back to posting about radio stuff.

If you want to know about Primal just google Primal Eating or similar. No craving going on and aside from short walks being a strain initially, things are okay. I used to run about 30 miles per week about 20 years ago so this is nothing new for me. Just amazing how accustomed one can become with a sedentary lifestyle. But we are on the mend now.

Now if I can find a good set of shoes that do not generate blisters and a good BP Monitor all will be right with the world. Here’s hoping…

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2010 in Stuff

 

8 responses to “Ruh Roh

  1. Rich

    June 27, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    You caught it in time, my friend, and that is essential. Exercise is very important. Early in the morning is a good time, before the heat of the day. At least an hour of brisk walking. Consider it as having to work an hour’s overtime if you were employed. Diet important. Skim milk, non-fat yogurt. Cut sugar in coffee and tea in half, (I can’t stand artificial sweeteners). Fresh veggies and fruits. No pastries! No 100% ice cream (lord, do I miss ice cream).

    Remember, if it isn’t in the house, you can’t eat it!

    I’m sure your doctor gave you the diet to follow.

    GL es 73
    Dick

     
    • w5pg

      June 27, 2010 at 7:46 pm

      Thanks Larry. I hope you had a great field day or at least a wonderful weekend. Yews, thank goodness we may have found it in time. Now the hard bits. Best, Chas W5PG

       
  2. Paul

    June 27, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    Hi Chas, it is good you try to live healthy. Indeed, computer and ham radio keeps me also on my chair much too long. I must lose some weight too. Keep up the good things, take care and good luck, 73 Paul

     
    • w5pg

      June 27, 2010 at 7:48 pm

      Thanks Paul. This Doc certainly got my attention! One day at a time as they say. Best and now I wonder who will win the World Cup! Chas W5PG

       
  3. Larry W2LJ

    June 27, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    Chas,

    Best of luck with the new lifestyle changes. As for me, my bloodwork as been coming back OK for the most part and my HBP seems to be under control. However, next week I have to go for some follow up bloodwork. My blood Calcium level is higher than it should be which will necessitate a ParaThyroid Hormone test. If it turns out that the ParaThyroid is the culprit for the higher Calcium level, then it looks like I will need to have surgery done to remove it.

    It’s always something, isn’t it?

    73 de Larry W2LJ

     
    • w5pg

      June 27, 2010 at 7:53 pm

      Hey again Larry…just a short note. Nothing (and I mean nothing) scares me more than anesthesia. Second most scary thing is a lifetime on statins. Boo Hiss. I just hope I can recover some of my former fitness thru walking. So far its been difficult breaking thru the crust of too many pizzas and beers. So far so good. I’m not traveling far…just about 8 tenths of a mile up and down but I break a sweat so that is good. I will give this distance a couple of weeks and then extend it some.

      Best, Chas W5PG

       
  4. Julian G4ILO

    June 27, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Good that you got the warning before it is too late. If you are anything like me, the idea of mindless exercise in a gym is not appealing and I like walking only as long as the weather is fine and I can walk somewhere interesting – going around the block just for exercise’s sake soon gets boring. My interest in APRS has definitely got me to take more exercise as I have found it adds some interest to a walk to see how well I can be tracked by my home station in different parts of the town using different antennas on the HT and different power levels. Plus of course as I live in the country it provides an extra incentive to take hikes to some of the high spots. So if you find it difficult to keep up the regime see if you can throw in some /P radio interest.

    Keep healthy, my friend.

     
    • w5pg

      June 27, 2010 at 8:05 pm

      Thanks Julian. I seem to not be bored yet! In a past life I ran a lot-30 miles per week. I had some dream to participate in a marathon-just once. I failed at that because I stress fractured my heel. Now its only walking and in the early morning to boot. It is hot here in Tx in summer (three digits F is not unusual) so I try for my walks before sunrise. I seem to prefer just at the crack of dawn as the birds are chirping and insects are active with cricket sounds and locusts are plentiful when out. So far Ive resisted the temptation to carry an mp3 player, although I have a nice file in Morse prepared from a free public domain ebook classic I converted for this purpose some many months ago. Jules Verne if memory serves. 🙂

      Best, Chas W5PG

       

Leave a Reply

 
