RSS

It’s 2008 all over again?

08 Jun

Oh my, propagation stinks! Buddy Chuck from Boston has been using something called SSNe for his SSN number when developing our weekly schedules. SSNe is derived from a series of Ionograms produced by sounders at various locations around the world and closely mimics the real SSN as counted daily by astronomers. It turns out to be a more conservative number and therefore produces a more conservative and (IMHO) more accurate propagation forecast from the likes of Icepac or Voacap. Here is a shot of today’s SSNe plot from Space Weather:

June 08 2010 Space Weather plot of SSNe.

The real daily plots can be found here .

The longer I get into this “Recovery” the more it seems Livingston and Penn are on to something. Not a wonderful prospect for radio enthusiasts in the last few decades of their lives.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2010 in Radio

 

2 responses to “It’s 2008 all over again?

  1. Paul PAØPSY

    June 8, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    Hi Chas, it don’t look good. I keep stats since October last year of the Solar Flux and SNN. First the tendency was slowly going up, with a small peak in January. But now the linear line is going down. I don’t think the sun will revive this year. We put our hopes on next year… I changed my call sign into the old one I used to have a few years ago >> PAØPSY. No longer PC4T.
    73 Paul

     
  2. Rich

    June 9, 2010 at 3:06 am

    Boy, you are so right about prospects for those with a few decades left. I doubt if I have even that. But, it is frustrating for everyone. Having only an antenna for 17 and 20 meters QRP cw, it is extra frustrating for me.

    73

     

Leave a Reply

 
