RSS

Small News

01 Apr

Nothing earth shattering going on here for the most part. Still no clock repair however I have every confidence that it will return soon. The bands have been a little punk lately. We have resumed CW Practice again between assignments for my practice buddy and I soon discovered that the path to Boston had deteriorated a lot on Tuesday and Wednesday this week and so we resorted to 20 Meters again.

Matt had a QSO today. He actually mashed the PTT button on a Handi and talked to someone. He is pretty busy so the opportunity has not presented itself to go through protocols and operating practice. All this in good time.

My Ukrainian printed QSL cards arrived the other day. Not a unique design by any measure-actually a clone of staff cards for ARRL staffers but with the color changed somewhat. The printer did a good job with meager artwork so I am pleased with the results. I will post a view here.

W5PG printed by UX5UO

Things have been slow. When I begin to get my clocks running I will be able to make some progress on mounting and proper display. At that time I will have some more pictures to show.Ā  So, until next time….

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2010 in Family, Radio, Stuff

 

9 responses to “Small News

  1. Paul PC4T

    April 2, 2010 at 6:21 am

    Hello Chas, a good finding: CW the original digital. Band conditions are going down and the weekend will be spend with family visits. So, I wish you a happy Easter weekend. 73 Paul

     
    • w5pg

      April 2, 2010 at 10:11 am

      Thanks Paul. Enjoy the family weekend and consider it good news that you have family to share holidays and good times. Today is a funeral for us to start the weekend. But we too have family coming over for Easter celebrations.Lots of children and grand children running about to remind us of how fortunate we are. Happy Easter Paul! Best, Chas W5PG

       
  2. Bas PE4BAS

    April 2, 2010 at 8:02 am

    Hi Chas, nice card. My QSLs were printed by the same printer. I’m also very satisfied.
    You can be proud. 73, Bas

     
    • w5pg

      April 2, 2010 at 10:08 am

      Thank you Bas and a very Happy Easter to you and your family. We must attend a funeral today. Sad days as it is for a father of my son’s friend and high school chum. He was only 51 years old. Perhaps the remainder of the weekend will be a happier time.

      Best, Chas W5PG

       
  3. UU1CC Andy

    April 2, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    Looks nice, I love such a “Telegraph Only” QSLs, seems like Gennady did a good job. Pardon me, only one note – he is NOT Russian printer.

    73! Andy

     
    • w5pg

      April 2, 2010 at 12:22 pm

      Sorry Andy. Old habits in the west I am afraid. I grew up thinking of the Soviet Union as a single block, not a Union of Countries. Its my failure and I will correct this misstatement. Of course for me Soviet meant Russian. I think it must have had something to do with Radio Moscow. That was the closest Soviet presence to me as a westerner. Standby for a correction. However he did a nice job with my poor artwork. Best, Chas W5PG

       
      • UU1CC Andy

        April 2, 2010 at 12:54 pm

        Not a big problem, Chas. I know, that “Russia” is equal to “Ukraine” (as well as all other xUSSR unstable countries) in western paradigm. So sad, that now, with our very new Ukrainian government, it should become a reality. Well, don’t mention it. I’m not a political activist or nationalist – my only homeland is Ionosphere šŸ™‚

        p.s. Some years ago, when Gennady started his QSL business, I’ve sketched some comic-like pictures for him. Take a look at printed cards here: http://www.qsl.net/ur3ijc/gallery.html

         
      • w5pg

        April 2, 2010 at 1:07 pm

        Holy Smokes Andy! You are quite the multi-talented fellow. I really like the Last Moor of the Holy Ship and Maze House. If you ever have a hankering to sell some of your art let me know please. It would look very nice on my dining room wall with Ansel Adams! I have some water colors on the wall from a trip I made to China in 1985. We have an eclectic home!

        I may have mentioned that the clock I am having repaired was purchased on ebay from the Ukraine. Was there a lot of surplus available from ships in the Ukraine? Was there scrapping operations which retired older ships and boats (boat= name for submarine) after the 1990 changes? Just curious.

        Thank you for taking to time to point out my mistake. Feedback is a good thing. Best, Chas

         
      • UU1CC Andy

        April 2, 2010 at 2:18 pm

        Thank you, Chas. Unfortunately I have no one of these paintings now and even don’t know where ones are. It is 15 year old photos. Hope, I’ll make some new pictures in the nearest future, I have time for it now (at last).

        About a big load of Ukrainian spare parts and military surplus on e-Bay, I think that it is because Ukraine is less warlike than USSR or, say, Russian Federation. So, our army can be found only in the government declarations and, yes – on e-Bay šŸ™‚

        73! Andy

         

Leave a Reply

 
