RSS

Kewl, another new one!

26 Mar

Serendipity works well sometimes. To put this in perspective I need to explain my operating preferences. I have long since given up on packet clusters or their modern equivalents the DX Cluster via Internet. To use these tools takes the fun of exploration and accidental discovery out of Ham Radio for me so I just avoid them. With that as a background you can imagine my delight when, early this morning at about 0430 local time I switched on my receiver and found T32MI working some unheard Europeans via split. After a bit I began hearing him work some US call signs and so tuned up a bit and listened to see if they were in fact audible so I could pick out his listening frequency. Sooner rather than later, I heard him work a K2 station which I could clearly hear and so dropped my call in and bingo! Serendipity! To adopt this method of DXing and be happy with your results, you must first convince yourself that being at the top of the Honor Roll is not important to you. In fact, you probably will never make the honor role (yes, lower case). Well that is my decision and I have to say that for me, the joys of discovery and the challenges of the hunt are more important than the cards or notoriety and recognition that comes from ones peers by attaining those lofty goals. I get a lot of pleasure from knowing that, should all the lights go out-even if only for a short time, I can still communicate easily and in a reliable way.  The ionosphere is a wonderful gift. So too is the phenomenon of Electromagnetic Radiation. It is still magic after all of these years. Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2010 in Radio

 

2 responses to “Kewl, another new one!

  1. Julian G4ILO

    March 26, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    Ah, someone else who feels the same as me about the DX Cluster! Not only does it take away the fun of exploration and accidental discovery but it also removes that window of opportunity for those who come across a DX just starting up to have an easy contact, because it only takes one person to spot the DX to the cluster and wham! there’s an instant pileup.

     
    • w5pg

      March 27, 2010 at 3:01 pm

      And a third thing that goes along with cluster ops is that marginal CW folks cant copy and so they report wrong callsigns in an effort to be king of the jungle and or Captain DX. The whole cluster thing is just too check book, buy a stamp, mail a card and collect another award thing for my taste. Back in the day, we were known as armchair adventurers and so it should be. However, you can see that I am not opinionated in the least Julian! Best to you and yours! Chas W5PG

       

Leave a Reply

 
