RSS

Gifts

18 Mar

In the dark corners of my mind, and during doubting moments, I sometimes think Ham Radio is a “Hammer in search of a Nail”. Mostly this occurs when I am feeling old and perhaps a little tuckered out from some sort of stress or other malady. Usually, this line of thinking is a derivation of a process that inevitably goes something like, “I really would like to help my son better understand what has kept me interested all these years”. Or, perhaps, “How do I help preserve lessons I have learned by better communicating the bits and pieces of the physics I have come to appreciate”? And just when I am considering world hunger as it applies to Ham Radio, I receive a gift. Just when I think it truly is a dying hobby, Mother Nature sends me a tasty morsel that sates my thirst for knowledge or quenches my fear. Out of the depths of mind where ideas are born or perhaps someplace far away comes this wonderful thing. Be it an idea, a solution to a vexing problem or just another in a long line of precious Radio Currency- those far away contacts coming out of a semi dark sky that sometimes surprise and many times confound. With gifts like these I no longer need to fear extinction because just as surely as mountains need climbing and seas need traversing, we enjoy spontaneity and, for the curious mind, a sense of wonder and awe. Todays morsel was JT1CO. A bit earlier it was TM7CC both on 30 meters. Yesterday FO8RZ and T77C, both on 17 meters. I do not need a QSL card to prove it. I know what happened. That is enough. My logbook is my witness and I trust this will be enough to excite an inquisitive mind and cause a sense of exploration to instill itself in the young generation.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2010 in Radio

 

3 responses to “Gifts

  1. Dick

    March 18, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Nicely stated.
    73 Dick

     
  2. w5pg

    March 18, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    Thanks Dick. Very much appreciated. Chas

     
  3. Paul PC4T

    March 19, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    Hi Chas, yes, that’s what I am thinking also. I don’t need QSL or awards to prove anything. Why should I lie about a contact I made. I would only fooling myself, isn’t it? I keep a simple spreadsheet as logbook. That’s OK for me. I worked TM7CC several times with different modes and bands. But he isn’t very far from me. Hi. Have a good weekend, 73 Paul

     

Leave a Reply

 
