RSS

Maritime Radio

07 Mar

There are several events coming up that some may be interested in. This is interesting to anyone with a background in Marine Radio or Navy Communications or perhaps, just a love of radio and the sea. Recently I became a member of CW Ops and with that membership came an entry into their yahoo group that exposes one to all manner of ex professional CW Operators from around the world. I was never an official Radioman in the Navy but I worked enough at the craft to be cleared to use Hi Com voice and TTY Order wires to test and coordinate my maintenance activities aboard ships. That was a big deal for me. I was just a tekkie guy with a bent for radio. Besides I could copy code better than most of the Radiomen aboard my ships! That, by the way, was not saying a lot. Morse had mostly gone the way of the Dodo bird by the late sixties and early seventies on Naval Vessels.

Lately I have been enjoying copying the old coast wireless  shore station at KSM (the old KPH RCA Global Site at Pt. Reyes Ca) and the Saturday afternoon CW broadcasting. Pt. Reyes is a beautiful spot and produced some of my fondest San Fransisco memories. Naturally, when I found its old coastal shore station was again active I became curious. Lately Saturday afternoons will find me listening to KSM on its 8 Mhz CW frequency copying sea state conditions for the pacific or reading news via its RTTY transmissions on various frequencies. I now find myself wishing I lived closer so I could volunteer for whatever task was at hand.

The Maritime Radio Historical Society has a nice website here. Click over to the Historical Photos section for a short tour. The KSM operating schedule and frequencies are also posted at the website.

On a separate note, there are some upcoming operating events which encourage Shore Stations and Ham Radio stations  to operate between one another. One operation is International Marconi Day. It has a website here and is celebrated on April 24th 2010. A second, less well known but equally interesting event is Radio Maritime Day which can be found here. It is celebrated on April 10th and April 11th. Times are on the website. It too, promises shore stations as well as ships to interact with Hams all around the world. There appears a lot of activity to keep Maritime Traditions alive in the face of encroaching technology and I for one believe its a valuable thing to preserve these stations and traditions. So if time allows you to participate then by all means Q one or more and send a card.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2010 in Maritime, Radio

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Maritime Radio

  1. F6DGU

    March 29, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    We are please let you know
    next radiomaritime day will be april 10 to 11th from 12HOOUTC TO 12H00UTC with CW and PSK modes.
    All informations you need on official website
    http://www.radiomaritimeday.org
    Best regards
    Olivier Marsan MRD coordinator

     
    • w5pg

      March 29, 2010 at 6:36 pm

      Thanks Oliver. I have it on my calendar. Best of luck during the activation and I hope to participate. Best, Chas

       

Leave a Reply

 
