RSS

Blog Reader “Drive By”……

05 Feb

I would like to collect a few friends of Ham Radio here on the blog. One such person is an old friend from Tracy California, Gary Steinhour, KF6U. Gary and I shared more than a few 807’s during our cohabitation of Tracy some 20 years ago. Back then Gary was N6DZA and I was W7MAP/6. So in the spirit of exposing one to a new medium, here is a photo of Gary that he sent just a day or two ago.

Gary Steinhour KF6U

Gary Steinhour KF6U

Perhaps Leo will stop by and see another Ham so that he can arrange a visit when he comes to Tracy again from Japan for the sister cities program.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2010 in Radio

 

3 responses to “Blog Reader “Drive By”……

  1. KF6U

    February 6, 2010 at 3:56 am

    I would normally say a photo like this would keep the bugs away, but us hams are a strange
    bunch and we like to collect bugs and similar items… 🙂 73 to all. -Gary

     
  2. Leo JJ8KGZ

    February 11, 2010 at 1:10 am

    Hi Chuck and Gary,

    My son Taiga is coming to Tracy on March 25th. I wish I could be with him but have no chance this time. He will stay with a member of Tracy sister city association who lives at 1175 Constitution Way. I guess he and the delegation members will be appeared on Tracy Express during their stay.

    When I was in Tracy in 2007, I saw a SteppIR antenna mounted on a tower near the Safeway Supermarket but I am not sure that it was Gary KF6U 🙂

    W4UA, Larry picked me up at the park where I could see an old water tank near the city hall. And I visited his home in Livermore.

    I hope I will have a chance to have an eyeball QSO with Gary next time I come to Tracy.

    Best
    Leo JJ8KGZ

     
  3. w5pg

    February 11, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    Gary is a wires only guy Leo so that would not have been his stepir antenna. Gary and the guys have breakfast meetings from time to time so should you be able to get to Tracy I would imagine a pancake bfst could be organized. That would be a hoot fro sure!

     

Leave a Reply

 
