RSS

Mor ..se Ramblings

03 Feb

The first two days of this week found us holding forth on 18 MHz. We shifted up late last week to do a trial balloon on a higher band and low and behold it worked just fine. So Monday and Tuesday found us on 18081.5 for our CW practice skeds. The band was quiet and sounded like the proverbial Land Line. Today however, it is back to QRN land on 30M and a later afternoon sked. This time its 2200 Zulu for us as conflicts occur. Monday went so well on 18 Mhz that we tried our luck on 40 M late in the evening at 0400 Zulu. That went well too. Mother Nature is indeed being kind to us after a few summers of no spots to support our practice schedules. The rest of the week will be spent between 18 and 10 Mhz.

Ive decided to clean things up a bit around the shack and am on the hunt for a set of large porcelain feed through  insulators to accommodate my window pass though for the feedline. These are apparently scarce as hens teeth. I’m currently using a pair of binding posts that normally work with banana jacks and I find that I would be more comfortable with the larger porcelain ones made I think by E.F. Johnson. If anyone knows of a set please leave a note in comments or email me.

Code Boy (my 20 year old son) has memorized the complete alphabet and is constantly sending Morse messages to me when I am least expecting it. He is now bugging me for some study guides for a License….What hath God Wrought? I see a trip to a local Ham Emporium coming soon. I mentioned this before but I will again-he is wanting to storm chase as a way to facilitate his interest in Meteorology.

For the past two days I have been hearing lots of good DX (is there any bad DX?) on 18 Mhz….Carl’s station, P49V, is loud into the northern bit of Texas early in the morning. He is busy working lots of EU stations and sweeps up almost everything heard, or so  it seems from here. Also heard was CO8LY, DL8YS, 6Y5WJ etc. etc. Also worked AI6U and mistook Chris for Carl AI6V. Oops.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2010 in Radio

 

2 responses to “Mor ..se Ramblings

  1. Paul

    February 3, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    I see that the CW training is going well. One day he will have his license and operate on HF with CW. Unfortunately, I can’t work on the higher bands yet. I must wait for the vertical, when winter is gone. I can hardly wait. I have also placed the Climate widget on my blog, it looks very nice. 73 Paul

     
    • w5pg

      February 3, 2010 at 8:24 pm

      The climate widget is from a website called “Watts Up With That?”….I believe he is an Australian Weather Guesser….quite active in the Global Warming debate. Im glad it is moderate here in Tx since at least one time my antenna was taken down by high winds and a tree blowing over. At least it is warm enough that I can repair same Paul…..Good luck with that vertical repair sir! Spring is a long time to wait for HF again! 😦

      Best, Chas W5PG

       

Leave a Reply

 
