RSS

Question: What was the best day in your Ham Radio Life?

26 Jan

Was it your first QSO? The feeling you got when your ticket arrived in the mail? DXCC? Helping out in Katrina or emergencies? Building something that actually may have worked and learned something along the way? Handling traffic? DXPeditioning? Learning? Is there some singular event that precipitated your having an “Oh Man” moment?

In fifty years I have had a lot of wonderful experiences.  I will not delineate them here except to say Ham Radio provided my family and I with a livelihood for all of that time. However, if I had to nail down a singular day or event that helped me enjoy more from Ham Radio than all the rest I would say it happened about three years ago now. It was the day that I first placed my radio on the air and could transmit power with no interference of any kind in my home. That was the day I knew I could enjoy my hobby on any day at any time and now three years later, with almost any power, with no thought about neighbors knocking on my door because of RFI.

For me, having RFI issues in my home means it is likely that RFI problems exist in my neighbors homes as well. Curing them all right under my dipole in my own home was an amazing experience. One that has yielded me many peaceful hours of hobby enjoyment. So far that is my number one Ham Experience. I look forward to displacing it, but it would take something special to do it.

What is the secret? It is easy. However you do it, whomsoever source or cookbook you use,  implement on your transmission line from the transmitter to your antenna, multiple common mode chokes. Make believe your feedline is a RF canal into your home and choke it three, four or more times with at least 1K ohm choking impedance at each of your chosen points. It is truly amazing what happens next!

Choking Dwg Block Diagram

Choking Dwg Block Diagram

This whole schema came courtesy of Chuck W1HIS. Thanks Chuck, you made my Ham Experience terrific!

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2010 in Radio

 

3 responses to “Question: What was the best day in your Ham Radio Life?

  1. Paul

    January 26, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    Hi Chas, first of all: the day I got my license. I had to study a lot for it. Second: the day I got my CW license, from then I could work on HF. The tropo conditions on 2 meter, working hundreds of miles with a few watts. 73 Paul PC4T

     
  2. w5pg

    January 26, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    Very nice Paul! Thanks for commenting. Best to you and your family. Chas

     
  3. John N8ZYA

    February 1, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    My first CW QSO….Palmer Lake, Colorado with a borrowed rig and my dipole at about 10 above the ground. It was magic!

     

Leave a Reply

 
