RSS

Apple Juice, Waffles and Morse Code

17 Jan

Today we began a new phase in our code warrior training. My young son leaves his paddle and keyer on the kitchen counter for occasional and sporadic code practice. His main attention is on code practice on the computer, but every so often I get a surreptitious series of tones sent as I walk by-a sort of test I guess. This morning he managed to send H.E.L.L.O as I got my coffee and he was downing some waffles and apple juice.  Naturally his sisters are encouraging him to go off to college and leave our house as he is becoming too much like his Pop. All in good family fun. I suppose I better find some technical test learning tools. Who knows what may be next? Dare I think about such things?

On another topic….I finally ran into Shin on Saturday morning. JA1NUT was not his normal signal strength.  In fact I could barely copy him. It was my normal time of finding him, around 1300-1400 on 7028 ish but conditions have deteriorated significantly since last fall toward JA. Or perhaps my antenna is not working as well, which is why I was hunting him in the first place. I hope it is the former and not the antenna-essentially a duplicate of my fiberglass fish pole antenna now executed in aluminum. I wanted to benchmark the contacts to see if my antenna would live up to its old self. First results are discouraging. More later on that subject.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2010 in Radio

 

2 responses to “Apple Juice, Waffles and Morse Code

  1. ja1nut

    January 18, 2010 at 2:07 am

    Hi Chas,

    Your signal was pretty good despite that poor condition. Your new aluminum dipole is doing just fine compared with the other signals form US. The probelm was that I could not recognize you with this call at once hi. W7MAP is still in my memory… See you again soon.

    Shin
    JA1NUT

     
  2. w5pg

    January 18, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    Thanks Shin! It was nice to find your signals on the air again. I listened for yu over our Xmas holiday time but I could not find almost any JA signals. Perhaps I need the Vernal Equinox to help out as the Autumnal did earlier this year. Best to you and your family. Best, Chas W5PG

     

Leave a Reply

 
