RSS

CW Ops

06 Jan

There is a new club starting up in cyberspace. It is called CW Ops and I first learned of its existence while reading JA1NUT’s blog translation link on my splash page. You can find their web pages here . Have a look at the Bylaws, Stated Purpose and get a feel for the language and sense of the place. If you are an aficionado of Morse, enjoy chatting via CW and enjoy the whole RF environment in general well you should pursue membership. Ask around. Chat up your CW op friends. Lets keep the “Glue” that is Morse going strong.

Our daily CW practice schedule continued throughout the Holiday Period. We went through the motions but minds were elsewhere. In fact our quest to improve was in a general funk through the whole of the Holiday period. We found ourselves back at 30 wpm and concentration flagging. However, with the new year and interest renewed I am please to report we are continuing with vigor and yesterday found is both as crisp and enthused as 33 wpm can take us. Both would like to do well balanced, rhythmic code at a speed of at least 35 wpm before we stop pushing. This last year has seen very slow progress with (speaking for myself at least) some small improvements and many steps backward. I cannot recall a day of missed practice and that is a good thing. We are working on three years of CW practice now and looking forward to many more.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2010 in Radio

 

6 responses to “CW Ops

  1. Tom Mitchell WY3H

    January 7, 2010 at 12:31 am

    I heard about CWops just the otehr day and visited thir website. Any organization or club that seeks to promote and preseerve CW is “good,” no bones about it. No. not good, GREAT!
    I did notice that membership is by nomination of one member and approval of three others. According to the club Website, membership is open to any licensed radio amateur. So far so good. But in reading the qualifications I noticed that prospective members must send and receive at 25 wpm. Am I wrong or doesn’t this make club membership somewhat elitist? Let’s face it, what percentage of CW ops on the bands today can honestly send and receive at 25 wpm. In my opinion this is contrary to FISTS motto: Accuracy Transcends Speed. Is this requirement truly promoting CW operation by encouraging the “slower” ops out there, or is it an unrrealistic detriment to membeship? Well, to each their own. Thank you for allowing me to express my opinion on your Website.
    Tom, WY3H
    President and co-founder of the North American QRP CW Club.

     
  2. w5pg

    January 7, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Hi Tom and Welcome! I understand that some organizations are not everyone’s cup ‘o Joe and that is part of our diversity. I had some misgivings when I first read about this new group. At first I was confused about it working at cross purposes to FOC; another group I really was striving to achieve membership in…a goal that is fairly unrealistic when its’ 500 member limit is taken into account. That said, I looked at the membership and found a group that I looked up to both on bands and in contests and as mentors of the hobby as well. Some I knew personally, some I knew of and admired their contributions. Real people with long histories of mentoring, producing positive change and unrivaled energy to affect a persistence in our hobby. It should come as no secret that I have an emotional tie to Ham Radio. It has been a very large part of my whole life. In no small manner it has helped provide my family with food and shelter and because of this I feel a strong need to give a little back.So yes, I joined. I am part of something that I believe will give a little back.Is it elitist? I don’t think so. This club provides a realizable goal to achieve that one should be proud of and it also gives me a forum to help others and spitball ideas.Could I do this within another group? Maybe. Lets be concise here Tom. I like what I see in this group. I know some of the fellas and know they are change agents- constructive change agents. This group provides a reachable goal of attaining membership and a provides a force to do good. I find myself wanting to be part of good and positive things here in Ham Radio. And I can give a little back. Thanks for reading Tom. Best, Chas W5PG.

     
  3. ja1nut

    January 8, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Hi Chuck,

    Happy New Year to you and yours. And welcome aboard to CWops. I was happy to have found your call in the roster. This club has a variety of members facing to different parts of ham radio activities. However, they might get united in the center of enjoyment of CW, I believe.

    I haven’t heard you nor your buddy W1HIS. I will be seeing you on 40m soon. Don’t slip on the icy roads!

    Shin
    JA1NUT

    PS; By the way, your family name sounds akin to my 1st name, which means belief in japanese. What a coincidence!

     
    • w5pg

      January 8, 2010 at 11:29 am

      Thank you for your kind thoughts Shin! Needless to say I was very happy to receive the invitation from Leo just several days ago. I am looking forward to lots of CW activities on the air in the future. I have spent some mornings looking for JA1NUT signals but you must be operating at a different time. I will keep trying. I replaced my fish pole antenna with an aluminum one of like dimensions and wanted to see if it worked ok to JA on 40 M. So far I cannot find you but I will continue to look!

      Today it is 19 degrees F here in Dallas. Tomorrow it will be the same. Fortunately there is no snow or precipitation so the roads are clear. But my daughter, living in Nebraska, is having 4 feet of snow in her driveway and temperatures of minus 8 degrees F this morning.

      Best to you and your family Shin. Happy New Year!

      Best, Chas W5PG.

       
  4. Raoul

    February 4, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    I am also a member of CWops, and I believe a lot of good things for CW will come from the combined efforts of all the great members.Many decades of experience available to assist new CW operators, many of the membership do have a history of being “Elmers” (helpers/leaders/teachers) and assisted many students.
    Looking forward to work you when conditions will allow!
    “8”
    Raoul, ZS1REC CWops # 338

     
  5. w5pg

    February 4, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    Hi Raoul! Glad to meet you as well. I too am very happy to be a member. Lots of wonderful experience available to help. Looking at the membership pages is like looking at a “who is who” of Ham Radio and other fields as well. Kind of exciting. I look forward to our meeting on the air someday. My code practice friend and I have moved up to 18 Mhz for several days and although still spotty from day to day I find it opening more frequently and for long distances. Perhaps someday soon? Best to you and thanks for the comments. Best, Chas W5PG.

     

Leave a Reply

 
