RSS

Dipoling on 40 Meters

02 Jan

This morning I had a good catch although not such a solid QSO. At 1259 Zulu I managed a contact with OH6NT, Thomas. I was using my low dipole and he apparently was on a 40 M sloper. At least that is what his website says he is using. Sometimes these things get out of date. In any event we managed a weak QSO with us exchanging a generous 559 both ways. I was glad to QSO with Europe again. It gave me an opportunity to try may amp (500 W) on 40M to see if I could generate some more smoke! Since Friday this week the random smoke has been absent from amplifier operations so I have a feeling Mr. Murphy is close at hand.

On another note, my son has taken up learning Morse. He did this on his own and has never shown much interest in Ham Radio other than to ask about its use in storm chasing and weather backups. He is studying to be a meteorologist. Now he has learned about 15 characters on his own and so I gave him a paddle and old keyer to practice with. I have not encouraged this very much, other than to help with a program and provide some old hardware. In my experience one has to be motivated to follow through. So far so good.  We shall see what pops up.

As I write this I tuned down the band a bit. I hear OH6AH very loud.I worked Janne now and he was very strong. S9 at times. As with all polar routes and signals QSB was strong and fast this morning. Of course his antenna was doing the heavy lifting (2el yagi) and it was nice to hear and work him this morning. Earlier I worked Thomas and he had a weather station active and on line so when my imagination sees Finland as cold, I now know it really is-Thomas wx stn was saying it was 0F at his location at about 1 PM his local time. Contrast that to 32 F here. What a wonderful winter morning to be on the radio.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2010 in Radio

 

2 responses to “Dipoling on 40 Meters

  1. Paul PC4T

    January 2, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Hi Chas, best wishes for 2010! A good job your son is learning CW on is own. CW is still my favorite mode to work with. After 12 days of QRT (vacation) I am back on the air again. This afternoon I worked Spain and Romania on 20 meter with CW and 5 watt. Both 1200 miles. Have a nice weekend, 73 Paul

     
    • w5pg

      January 2, 2010 at 4:43 pm

      Thanks Paul and welcome home again. I trust you had a good holiday! Congrats on your DX via QRP. That is always an exciting sport. I look forward to perhaps working you one day when we have good solar conditions and maybe the high bands come back a little bit. I enjoy your posting of qsl cards on the blog site. I would like to do that but I have no scanner. Maybe someday I will find one surplus. 🙂 Best, Chas

       

Leave a Reply

 
