RSS

Small & Simple Antennas Are Good

29 Nov

My antenna is flying again. This time it is oriented towards NE/SW and avoiding any tree limb interference. The limbs on my fish pole antenna are what eventually did it in. The major difference in the new antenna is that it is constructed from aluminum whereas my old one was made from a pair of 20 foot long fiberglass fish poles.

New Aluminum Antenna

New Antenna flying towards 57 degrees North East

Closer View of new Aluminum Antenna

I am monitoring the last hours of CQWW CW and the new antenna seems to play well.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2009 in Radio

 

2 responses to “Small & Simple Antennas Are Good

  1. Paul PC4T

    November 30, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Hallo Chas, I am working only with a Miracle Whip and 10 meter wire attached to it. And 5 watt QRP working 68 DXCC countries so far in 4 continents. I consider a MFJ Magnetic Loop on top of the roof. 73, Paul

     
    • w5pg

      November 30, 2009 at 11:55 am

      Very nice Paul. I envy you the 5 watts. My daily sked would be toast if I tried 5 watts! At least as long as we have no sun spots. I listened to 15 M late yesterday during CQWW CW and it was as hot as I have heard in more than 2 years. Thanks for reading here Paul. Have a great day OM. Best, Chas

       

Leave a Reply

 
