RSS

Journal Blogging and Public Blogs

28 Aug

Sometimes it seems counter productive to Blog in public view. Some of the material is intended for family, some for Ham friends and yet others are simply a way to work out ideas that are fuzzy or incomplete. I have found that writing things down forces me to think about how I am organizing my ideas or facts for presentation and so helps me order things so that they make sense. The act of writing is itself a form of discipline and is helpful to me. The downside is that incomplete or inaccurate items get put in public view. I worried about this in the past, but no more. Most of this content is about learning. Learning by its very nature is a journey of errors made and errors corrected. I am not embarrassed by making an error or errors and welcome feedback from anyone with insight or more knowledge or expertise than I possess.

I have been a little remiss in my updates lately. My son’s accident and summer propagation both served to dampen interest. I find myself wishing there was a Ham Fest to attend or another antenna project to keep my interest and activity level a bit higher. Soon we will encounter the Autumnal Equinox and the attendant improvement in propagation, so for that I am thankful. I have to admit that the slog through this summers propagation and trying to meet schedules has been a rough row to hoe. I will be glad for a sunspot or two to grace the solar disc’s surface. It seems an eternity since the last of any spots were apparent. The good news in all of this is that we maintained our schedules throughout the whole of spring and summer 2009 and I have believe that things will improve shortly. Perhaps I retired my sunspot dancers (Barnaby) too early last summer. The inspiration for Barnaby was a set of visiting Gecko’s that took up residence outside my window in the spring of 2008 and were particularly active during our morning cw practice schedules. The spring/summer of 2009 has been so hot and dry that the Gecko’s have not made an appearance at all this year. Ill winds bear no moisture I suppose.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W5PG

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 28, 2009 in Radio

 

Leave a Reply

 
