RSS

Lids, Kids and Space Cadets

19 Aug

Every so often I see a note about how so and so bashed a project on the internet or how a pileup got way out of control with policeman, interference, etc, etc. Display of bad manners on air or in forums  used to make me crazy, especially when I had limited hours to participate in radio sports or to devote to reading the internet.

However, over the years I have come to understand that an open forum is just that. Whether a radio circuit or a internet forum, the effect is the same. You are participating at an open table and by doing so you have in effect invited all comers into your home. There is good news and bad news contained here. A bad news bit could be considered that it is messy and generally descends to the behavior exhibited by the law of lowest common denomination. To paraphrase one of my old bosses: It is what it is. Work through it. The good news is that out of seemingly chaotic noise sometimes come nuggets. It may not be pretty but always a learning experience.

On another subject entirely, I enjoyed observations from Leo (JJ8KGZ) over on Brasspounders Cafe concerning Ham Radio and Marriage. One theme I have found consistently throughout my Ham Radio career is that some households function blissfully with husband and wife cohabiting along with radio and others do not. All I can say about this is that in our home we enjoy individual identities and pass times and they work wonderfully together. My wife sings and I do ham radio. We each do our own thing. It seems to me a marriage is a special relationship where people expect uniformity of identity but individualism keeps surfacing. Celebrate your differences and give each other space!

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas. W5PG

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 19, 2009 in Radio

 

One response to “Lids, Kids and Space Cadets

  1. Paul PC4T

    August 19, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Hi Chas, though my wife do not really understand what can be fun with ham radio, she accepts the fact that I am doing it. She allows a indoor Magnetic Loop in the window sill, and don’t bother my bleeps from CW, we accept out differences. 73, Paul PC4T

     

Leave a Reply

 
