RSS

No Fishing on 40 Meters!

12 Jun

Or anywhere else for a while. We had some of the most severe storms pass through Dallas and vicinity that I have seen in over 20 years of living in this area. Wednesday evening I ended up with no telephones, no power and now no antenna. Conditions that persisted until noon on Thursday. Now the hard part begins. Fortunately there were no injuries to our family or damages to our home or automobiles. Just some large trees and of course my well travelled small dipole. Today the tree crew arrives and following that I will attempt to repair my radio antenna. Since one cannot find push up masts any longer I am not sure how I will accommodate the repairs but I am sure a remedy will present itself. A push up mast would be stronger and easier than the last method I used.

Some pictures:

Fallen Hackberry Tree

Fallen Hackberry Tree

Hackberry rolled over almost to the street.

Terrible Sight! The Downed Dipole!

At least it appears that my fishing poles are intact. I may, however, choose to rebuild this with aluminum replacing my fish poles. Im not sure what I will do just now. First the trees need to be removed.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W7MAP/5

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 12, 2009 in Radio

 

Leave a Reply

 
