RSS

Another Great Morning QSO on 40 CW.

04 Apr

I am beginning to enjoy 40 Meters more and more. No nasty sporadic e (Es) to take afternoon QSO’s into the noise as occurs so frequently on 20 Meters. This morning I again managed to QSO with Shin, JA1NUT on his bug key. I have never been brave enough to try a bug. My Morse efforts have taken the path of least resistance; that is I use a keyer and a paddle. I find that Morse does not come easily to me and requires lots of practice. The purpose of practice is not for speed, although my practice buddy keeps me on my toes by bumping speed up often. No, for me it is to better develop my concentration and mental skills so that I can become more repeatable and consistent on my sending. It seems counter intuitive but I have not had troubles with copying code as much as sending. Every once in a while I think I am on the brink of something wonderful in that I sometimes can think of a sentence and not have to concentrate on the formation character sending. I sometimes can just think of something and it comes out in Morse. But on other occasions, much more frequent occasions, I must concentrate on forming the characters as I also form sentences and that I believe is the root of making errors. Either my mind looses focus or  I am unable to think about what is next and send simultaneously. Alas, no one said it would be easy.

This morning was a difficult morning. For the second time in as many weeks, friends or extended family have been delivered news of cancer with an unfavorable  prognosis. Young or old, it matters not the age, life gives and takes. It does, however, seem that as we get older, life begins to take more and more. Both will be remembered on local prayer lists.

Part of my conversation this morning with Shin involved raising tomatoes. Spring is renewal time and so thoughts turn to growing things. I think I too will grow some tomatoes this season. I would like to be consumed in new life and fresh growing things to help make life happy.

Thanks for reading my Blog. Best, Chas W7MAP/5

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2009 in Radio

 

2 responses to “Another Great Morning QSO on 40 CW.

  1. robfindlay

    April 19, 2009 at 11:04 am

    FB, on 40 I agree! As of late propagation out west into the pacific has been spectacular!

    I was passing the radio at about 0900z and switched it on as a lark tunned down a few hertz and their is JO1CVU just booming in on SSB from Japan! Boy was I shocked when he returned my call to my peanut whistle of a station!

    Along the same lines, that same week i worked Hawaii, Alaska, Puerto Rico and Rhode Island all on 40!

    Other then my constant ambient noise issues local to my QTH I’ve been enjoying 40!

    de W6NZX sk
    http://w6nzx.wordpress.com
    http://hamminitupnet.wordpress.com/

     
  2. Whitney

    April 20, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    I love reading all your posts – I started at the top and worked my way down which isn’t the correct progression, but none the less, I have enjoyed all your thoughts and reflections. I agree about the passivity of this country and wish we just had two more hours in each day. I am glad spring is here – at least we have more sunlight – sunlight always makes me feel a little happier! I think it’s great that you are going to grow tomatoes and makes me feel like being productive as well – I will have to research what vegetable Hannah and I would like to grow!

    I love you Pops,
    Whit

     

Leave a Reply

 
