RSS

CQ Contest!

13 Feb

Ok. I admit it. I’m hooked. I just love a multi-single contesting. In case you have not picked this up from reading here I also am a pretty social animal. What could be finer than a trip to anywhere to be part of a multi-single effort. Multi-single even makes staying home fun. 2-5 ops, one radio, a cobbled together set of emergency (weekend only) antennas, an old grumpy amplifier and friends. What more does one need? Well, good chemistry for a start. Good friends enjoying their chosen hobby and enjoying each other. If you have never experienced a weekend cooped up with a set of cranky hardware and friends to share the experience; well you need to try it. Secondly, one must add traditional Contest Fare. Whats that you say? Imagine 1976 or so and Microwave ovens just began to propagate to every man’s home. Enter Contest Dogs! One of contesting’s  great staples. Take a hot dog, roll it in a chunk of bread, roll that into a paper towel and chunk into the microwave for 45 seconds. Instant Contest Dawg! One of humanities all time best recipe’s. Contest Dawgs are second only to “Rolling Thunder” Contest Chili. Now here is a bowl o’ red with a toot! I promise to share my favorite recipe if you give us a Q or two! My wife shamelessly stole the recipe and modified it to suit the contest community.

About a bazillion years ago I traveled to VP2M for a week or two of contesting fun. We rented Chod Harris’ old place which has since been demolished in a volcanic eruption. I was chosen as victim for twenty phone. In the end I was singularly rewarded and exhausted by the work load-and I was a lot younger then. Although it was a great time and I would not change a thing, I don’t think I have a multi multi in me any more -especially if there are only 5 or 6 ops for the entire 48.

So I am off to New England next week. I promise to take loads of pictures and recount painfully all our missed mults and joyfully all of the small triumph’s. I think we will have fun. Who knows? Maybe Leo will tell me how to say 59 Mass in Japanese! Go Que Mass Dozo? 🙂

Thanks for reading my blog. Best, Chas W7MAP/5.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 13, 2009 in Radio

 

Leave a Reply

 
