RSS

Another Ham Beacon Extinguished

10 Feb

From time to time I write about radio persons that I hear or look for on familiar frequencies or times. A predictable  rhythm that beats with the regularity of cicadas. I call them “Beacons in my night”. These all too familiar regulars are becoming scarce these days. Another beacon was extinguished today. With thanks to the Japanese Blog “Small Talk” I found the following news.

Subject: Jim – VK9NS – SK

Please pass on to interested parties I am sorry if I have not included everyone:

It is with deep sadness that I inform you that Jim (VK9NS) passed peacefully away on Norfolk Island at 15:40 local time on 10 February 2009 after a short illness.

Jim is survived by his wife Kirsti (VK9NL) and his four children: Bruce (G3HSR), Stuart, Sheena and Fraser (all living in the UK).

Jim’s contribution to Amateur Radio, DX-ing and IOTA is inestimable. He will be sadly missed.

Further information and condolences can be sent to Kirsti at
jimkirsti(アットマーク)ni. net.nf

Bruce (G3HSR)

Thanks for reading my blog. Best, Chas W7MAP/5


 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 10, 2009 in Radio

 

Leave a Reply

 
