RSS

RFI and Near Field Redux

14 Nov

The other day I mentioned that my HDTV had a single symptom that showed up on 3 bands while transmitting Morse. Simply put, a Menu screen popped up while watching TV and was quite annoying.  That symptom I attributed to my house wiring being in the near field of my doublet. Near field was most likely because I had done little to my house wiring in the near field and I had done a thorough job of ferriting my audio, video and rf leads in my TV receiving system. Yesterday afternoon I convinced my son to climb into the attic and distribute approximately 30 Mix 31 ferrite snap-its onto my exposed Romex house wiring and I am pleased to report that my Menu symptom has gone away. I would liked to have placed more snap-its and placed them farther along the power cable runs but they were under insulation so we opted for a more concentrated distribution covering the wires nearest my antenna. In any case, it worked. For anyone interested it made no change in my received noise floor which remains at (AM Mode, 9 KHz B/W) S-5.

Thanks for reading. Best, Chas W7MAP/5

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 14, 2008 in Radio

 

Leave a Reply

 
