RSS

Its Still Magic After All These Years.

24 Jul

49 years to be exact. That is a long time to be engaged in the same activity. I ask myself why I’m still doing this at 49 years along. The answer of course is complex. Mostly it is about learning, people and variety. The real magic comes from Mother Nature and it is free to anyone willing to expend a few hours getting a license. Mother Nature provides an endless set of changing circumstances that bewilder my mind. I can turn on a radio at any hour of the day and find a new, unpredicted pathway to India or some other remote corner of the world. I can mange to use the frequencies we are allocated and find a way to communicate on any given day with a point on the planet of my choosing. I can meet people I would never have met in my “Real” life. I learn a lot from this exercise and the activity keeps me mentally challenged as well as sharper than if I did not do this activity. I meet people every day who give freely of their time to help me. I try to do the same. It is a community of the world with real names and real addresses and a genuine interest in things of a technical bent. What a great Hobby!

Best, Chas W7MAP/5

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 24, 2008 in Radio

 

Tags:

One response to “Its Still Magic After All These Years.

  1. Ian, Whitney, and Hannah Wade

    July 25, 2008 at 1:30 am

    Just wanted to say I love you – keeping typing!

    Whit

     

Leave a Reply

 
